Memoirs of a Country Man

Biographies & Memoirs

By AR Lewis

Publisher : Silverwood Books


AR Lewis
AR (David) Lewis was born in December 1919, in Caersws, Montgomeryshire, Wales, where he was educated and spent his teenage years. He enlisted in HM Welsh Guards on the 24th January 1938 and served until the 21st April 1946, when he was discharge, having served for 8 years and 88 days. Du More...


AR (David) Lewis skillfully uses prose and poetry to tell his story of growing up during the 1920s, his relationship with the countryside and the colourful characters he met on his journey of discovery. As a soldier serving with the Welsh Guards, David vividly represents his experiences of the Dunkirk evacuation, the D-Day landings and the hard fought battles of the invasion of Europe during World War II. He also shares with us a snapshot from his time as a police officer in post-war London, and concludes with a collection of touching pieces dedicated to the memory of his loving wife of sixty-nine years.

'Memoirs Of A Country Man' is the conclusion of a trilogy, and includes the first two books, the critically acclaimed 'The Cup & Saucer Tree' and 'A Field of Red Poppies'. All proceeds from the sale of this book will be divided equally between the following organisations: HELP for HEROES FLOW– Forces Literary Organisation Worldwide Welsh Guards Reunited Great Ormond Street Hospital Charity