Toward a Science of Consciousness 2010

Toward a Science of Consciousness 2010

ABOUT Abi Behar Montefiore

Abi Behar Montefiore



9th Biennial Toward a Science of Consciousness Conference, Tucson Convention Center, Tucson, AZ, hosted by the Center for Consciousness Studies, University of Arizona

The study of human consciousness is one of science's last great frontiers. After being neglected for many years (i.e. during a period of dominance by behaviorism in psychology), interest in the science of consciousness exploded in the last decades, with much progress in neuroscience, psychology, philosophy, and other areas. The University of Arizona has been at the center of these developments. The 1994 Tucson conference on "Toward a Science of Consciousness" is widely regarded as a landmark event, and the subsequent series of biennial conferences in Tucson have attracted extraordinary interest. The Center for Consciousness Studies at the University of Arizona was formed in 1998 with a seed grant from the Fetzer Institute. The Center is a unique institution whose aim is to bring together the perspectives of philosophy, the cognitive sciences, neuroscience, the social sciences, medicine, and the physical sciences, the arts and humanities, to move toward an integrated understanding of human consciousness. The Center is unique in its broad spectrum approach. Other groups tend focus either on cognitive neuroscience, philosophy or purely phenomenal experiential approaches, whereas the Center not only integrates these areas, but "thinks outside the box" of conventional wisdom which has thus far, at least, failed to make significant breakthroughs. The Center has also inspired other groups such as the Association for the Scientific Study of Consciousness and those who organize other conferences. TSC 2010 marks the 9th biennial Toward a Science of Consciousness Conference held in Tucson. On alternate years, CCS teams up with an international university who hosts the conference. Locations included (Tokyo, Salzburg, Hong Kong, Budapest, Naples/Ischia, Copenhagen/Elsinore)